Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Distinguished Service Award

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Distinguished Service Award was established in 1986 to honor a faculty member, administrator or staff member for their outstanding service in keeping with the principles and ideals of Dr. King.  While the award is a tremendous honor, it also carries a $1,000 stipend for the recipient. This year we will seek to honor both a faculty and a staff member for their contributions throughout our community.

Both of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Distinguished Service Award recipients will be named at FSU’s annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemoration Celebration.


  • Nominations should be for a faculty or staff member who has demonstrated a longstanding commitment to Dr. King’s principles and ideals of freedom, equality, justice, liberty, individuality and respect, and furthers the university’s commitment to those principles and ideals.
  • All faculty and staff are eligible for the award.
  • Nominees from the faculty must demonstrate scholarly excellence and a personal commitment to Dr. King's principles ad ideals.
  • Nominees from the staff must exemplify a commitment to the campus community and a personal commitment creating an environment of Dr. King's principles and ideals.

Nomination packets should be submitted via the online form and should include:

  • Nomination letter: Detail the faculty or staff member’s scholarly excellence, social involvement, and/or significant contributions to study, research, service, support, and/or uphold the values and ideals of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The nomination letter should include contact information for the faculty or staff member organizing the nomination materials.
  • Resume/CV and biography: The person submitting the nomination materials should include a resume/CV and short biography of the nominee.
  • One letter of support: Letter should affirm the commitment and contributions of the nominee, including one form the nominee’s supervisor or administrative unit head (e.g., dean or director).

All nominations are due by 11:59 p.m. on Friday, December 1, 2023.





Distinguished Service Award Past Recipients


2022 Dr. Sabrina L. Dickey College of Nursing
2021 Dr. Gregory Harris College of Human Sciences
2021 Earl Levison Student Affairs
2020 Dr. Huan Chen National High Magnetic Field Laboratory
2019 Thesla Berne-Anderson College of Medicine
2019 Donald J. Weidner College of Law
2018 Joedreka Brown Speights College of Medicine
2018 Fabian Tata Center for Academic Retention & Enhancement
2017 Darryl Marshall Office of Financial Aid
2017 Okenwa Okoli College of Engineering
2016 Dr. Bruce Lamont College of Business
2015 Dr. Rhea Lathan Department of English
2014 Dr. Penny Ralston College of Human Sciences
2013 Dr. Kendall Campbell College of Medicine
2012 Mr. Jimmy Pastrano Educational Leadership & Policy Studies Department
2011 Ms. Vanessa Solomon The Center for Leadership and Service
2010 Dr. Maxine Montgomery College of Arts & Sciences
2009 Dr. Tamara Bertrand Jone College of Education
2008 Dr. Jose Rodriguez College of Medicine
2007 Dr. Davis Houck College of Communication
2006 Retha Bowman Building Services
2005 Angela Richardson Center for Academic Retention & Enhancement
2004 Roberta Christie International Center
2003 Earle Lee Boys' Choir
2002 Jenice Rankins Nutrition, Food & Exercise Science
2001 Billy R. Close Department of Criminology
2000 Edward Love Sculptor
1999 Dr. Jawole Willa Jo Zollar Department of Dance
1998 Joy M. Bowen Student Affairs
1997 Sheila Ortiz-Taylor Department of English
1996 Andre J. Thomas College of Music
1995 Fred Seamon Public Administration
1994 R. Bruce Bickley, Jr. Department of English
1993 Freddie Groomes Office of Human Resources
1992 Sandra Rackley Office of Undergraduate Studies
1991 Joe M. Richardson History 
1990 Melvin T. Stith Marketing
1989 Douglas G. St. Angelo History
1989 Maxine D. Jones Political Science
1987 Na'im Akbar Psychology
1986 William R. Jones Black Studies